MTB Race News Gear
Buy It Here!
Shirts, Socks, Hoodies and More...
Home Calendar MTB RaceNews Team Photo Gallery About Us

MSC #2 Chalk Creek Stampede - Nathrop, CO

Posted by: Shannon Boffeli |May 17, 2010 6:52 PM
< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >

The conditions could not have been more pristine to set the fastest times ever on the cross country course at MSC#2, Chalk Creek Stampede. With the fastest guys in the country setting the pace, rain-packed and smooth trail conditions, and uncharacteristically calm winds, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru / Gary Fisher) broke away from the pack on the second lap to finish in 1:42:52, and win the race by almost two minutes. He also rode away with first in the short track and super d to take the overall crown title for the second stop on the H20 Overdrive Triple Brown All Mountain Series.

Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team) shattered the current record for the pro women by nearly 12 minutes, finishing the cross country race in 1:50:41. She rode away from the field which included Kelli Emmett (Giant), Katie Compton (Planet Bike) (previous course record holder), and Heather Irmiger (Subaru/Gary Fisher), and other top pro women in the Rocky Mountain region. Gould also lapped the short track field a few times and set the fastest time on the super d by 12 seconds.

Jay Henry (Tokyo Joe’s) frequents the Mountain States Cup and is usually on most podiums in the series. This weekend was no different, even with the best talent in the nation showing up. Henry rode strong for second place in the cross country and fourth place in short track, taking third overall. Sid Taberly (Sho-Air/Specialized] was considered the favorite for the weekend with the absence of teammate Max Plaxton (Sho-Air/Specialized). He finished third in cross country, and second overall.

The pros raced four 7.38 mile laps of fast singletrack, doubletrack and cattle trails. The stacked fields for both the men and women were all vying for the crown title this weekend, with the best two of three in cross country, short track and super d, with cross country being the tie-breaker, to determine their place for the H2O Triple Crown All Mountain Series payout. By sweeping their races, Horgan-Kobelski and Gould won the overall Triple Crown for the weekend and walked away with significant cash prizes, underwritten by the promoters of the US Cup.

Next stop on the MSC circuit is MSC #3, Chile Challenge in Angel Fire, NM. Cross country, four cross, super d, and the first downhill race of the season will set the stage for some of the most technical riding of the season on old World Cup courses.

Results Pro Women:

1, George Gould (Luna Pro Team) 1:50:41

2, Kelli Emmett (Giant) 1:54:14 

3, Katherine Compton (Stevens/Planet Bike) 1:58:39

4, Heather Irmiger (Subaru/Gary Fisher) 2:02:41

5, Jennifer Smith (Trek Co-op)  2:03:43

6, Teal Stetson-Lee (Rocky Mountain Cheese) 2:04:36

7, Kelly Cullen (Honey Stinger/Trek) 2:04:36

8, Jennifer Gersbach (Maverick) 2:05:50

9, Krista Park (Cannondale/Incycle) 2:06:14

10, Nina Baum (Cannondale) 2:07:54

11, Shannon Gibson

12, Molly Throdahl

13, Sonya Looney

14, Jennifer Tilley

15, Jane Rynbrandt

16, Danae York

17, Jill Behlen

Pro Men

1, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru/Gary Fisher) 1:42:52

2, Jay Henry (Tokyo Joe's) 1:44:45

3, Sid Taberlay (Sho-Air/Specialized) 1:45:41

4, Colin Cares (Kenda/Felt) 1:45:41

5, Bryan Alders (SponsorMe) 1:45:48

6, Travis Brown (Trek) 1:45:49

7, Russell Finsterwald (Subaru/Gary Fisher) 1:46:38

8, Brad Bingham (Moots Cycles) 1:47:10

9, Matthew Beaton (Tokyo Joe's) 1:47:14

10, Nicolas Enjalbert (yardbird racing) 1:47:45

11, Kalan Beisel

12, Kelly Magelky

13, Trevor Downing

14, Braden Kappius

15, Yuki Saito

16, Len Zanni

17, Travis Scheefer

18, Blake Harlan

19, Andy Schultz

20, Ryan Dorsey

21, Spencer Powlison

22, Tim Allen

23, Greg Lewis

24, Kevin Kane

25, Miles Venzara

26, John Barclay

27, Jan Koles

28, Shawn Meredity

29, Jason Young

30, Jeffrey Irwin

31, Jordan Williford

32, Dylan Stucki

33, Brent Steinberg

34, Graham Aldredge

35, Gregory Carpenter

36, J. Clark

37, Bryce Gordon

38, Mike Friedberg

39, Katriel Statman

40, Adam Parke

41, Joe Schneider

42, Benjamin Kraushaar

43, Chris Brandt



Close (X)