MTB Race News Gear
Buy It Here!
Shirts, Socks, Hoodies and More...
Home Calendar MTB RaceNews Team Photo Gallery About Us

15th Annual Off Road Assault on Mt. Mitchell, NC

Posted by: Matt Williams |July 29, 2014 7:06 PM

The 15th Annual Off Road Assualt on Mt. Mitchell (ORAMM) kicked off under sunny skies on Sunday, with 500 racers tackling one of the toughest endurance courses in the southeast. The race once again tackled some of the best descents in Western NC, including Heartbreak Ridge, Kitsuma, and Star Gap, ensuring that riders would be rewarded for their efforts up the nearly 10,500 feet of climbing on tap for the day. And with course conditions looking as fast as ever, everything was lining up for some fast times. As in past years, however, conditions got hot as the day progressed. It was essential to get your nutrition and hydration right given the heat, noted 6th place finisher Jacob McGahey (Industry Nine).  

One rider who got nearly everything right was multi-time ORAMM winner Thomas Turner (Jamis). Coming through Aid 1 Turner was out front by nearly three minutes over a group of three chasers, which included eventual runner up Brian Schworm (Pedal Power). Turner was a bit behind the anticipated arrival time at the first Aid stop, but as the day went on it became clear he knew exactly what he was doing. Though his lead was never challenged, indeed he rode almost the entire race solo, Turner turned in a commanding performance. He clocked the fastest time of the day down the Enduro Stage on Heartbreak Ridge Trail and rode a relentless and steady tempo to finish in a time of 4:23. Behind Turner, Schworm used his climbing prowess to drop the other members of the chase group, and struck out solo in pursuit of Turner. Though he was never able to close the gap, he did put nearly 20 minutes into third place by the line. Riding steadily throughout the day, Michael Danish proved that riders from Florida can indeed climb by taking a solid third place. David Hall and Westley Richards rounded out the top 5.

Thanks to his win at the Jerdon Mountain Challenge on Saturday and his 2nd at ORAMM, Schworm was crowned King of Black Mountain, which is given to the rider with the lowest combined time over the course of the two days.

In the women's race in was the 2ndplace finisher from Jerdon Mountain, Jennifer Moos taking the win at ORAMM. Jerdon winner Nina Otter didn't line up on Sunday, but Moos got a challenge from Zdenka Worsham, who kept the race close all day. Though Moos had a solid lead of close to five minutes built up by the mid-point of the race, Worsham was still close enough that a flat tire or a crash could have been the difference. Moos held her advantage all the way to the line though, and took a well earned win. Worsham took second while the youngest rider in the Open Women's field, Kaysee Armstrong, rolled through in third. Armstrong also dominated the day's Enduro section, riding Heartbreak Ridge in just under 25 minutes, 6:30 faster than her nearest competitor.

With her ORAMM win and 2ndplace at Jerdon Mountain Challenge, Moos took the Queen of Black Mountain Crown.

Kaysee Armstrong and Thomas Turner took top honors in the day's Enduro segment, which ran the full length of Heartbreak Ridge Trail.

Men Overall:

1 Thomas Turner 4:23:00

2 Brian Schworm 4:36:42

3 Michael Danish 4:56:15

4 David Hall Myrtle 4:56:29

5 Wes Richards 4:58:52

6 Jacob McGahey 5:05:43

7 Alejandro Bello 5:07:45

8 Bob Moss 5:09:03

9 Brad Cobb 5:09:47

10 Ben Richardson 5:09:53

Open Women:

1 Jennifer Moos 5:55:49

2 Zdenka Worsham 6:00:49

3 Kaysee Armstrong 6:12:44

4 Heather Davis 6:32:11

5 Jennifer Tillman 6:50:55

6 Elsa Lee 7:21:35

7 Kathleen Sheehan 7:28:14

8 Catherine Opalka 7:34:04

9 Josselyn Gutierrez 7:35:31 

Open Men Enduro:

1 Thomas Turner         0:21:45

2 David Hall                0:23:31

3 Ivan Temnykh          0:24:11

4 Nick Bragg               0:24:37

5 Brian Schworm         0:25:07

6 Charlie Storm 1        0:25:34

7 Michael Danish        0:25:41

8 Andrew Brock          0:25:45

9 Stephen Huddle         0:26:17

10 David Reich           0:26:38

Open Women Enduro:

1 Kaysee Armstrong          0:24:59

2 Jennifer Moos                 0:31:33

3 Zdenka Worsham            0:34:06

4 Jennifer Tillman              0:35:55

5 Rachel Stevens                0:38:24

6 Josselyn Gutierrez            0:44:29

7 Michael Hodges               0:44:34

8 Michelle Moorman           0:45:53

9 Kathleen Sheehan             0:46:16

10 Rebecca Bubp                0:46:53

anonymous 08/01/2014 10:01 PM Super Bags Market Nike Jordan Shoes Beats By Dre Outlet Michael Kors Outlet Online Ralph Polo Outlet Online North Clearace Outlet Ralph Polo Outlet Gucci Shoes Outlet Michael Kors Outlet Polo Outlet Store Ralph Lauren UK Marc Jacobs On Sale MCM Outlet Sac Longchamp Pairs Canada Goose Outlet Burberry Outlet Michael Kors Outlet Oakley Sunglaases Factory North Face Outlet Online Moncler Clearance Woolrich Clearance Barbour Jackets Outlet Online Moncler Jackets Outlet Online Monster Beats Outlet Louis Vuitton Outlet Louis Vuitton Factory MCM 店铺 Discount Clothes Sale Michael Kors Factory Online Coach Factory Outlet Coach Black Friday Coach Store Outlet Online Coach Factory Outlet Online Coach Outlet Coach Factory Coach Purses Outlet Online Coach Outlet USA Michael Kors Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online USA Coach Factory Outlet Online Black Friday Coach Purses Outlet Online Michael Kors USA Michael Kors Outlet USA Ralph Lauren Polo
Close (X)